LibGuides: Communication: Home

Books

TED talks : the official TED guide to public speaking by Chris J. Anderson
Call Number: PN4129.15 .A53 2016
ISBN: 9780544634497
Publication Date: 2016-05-03
Talk like TED : the 9 public speaking secrets of the world's top minds by Carmine Gallo
Call Number: HF5718.22 .G353 2014
ISBN: 9781250041128
Publication Date: 2014-03-04
The Natural Speaker by Randy Fujishin
Call Number: PN 4121 F77 1997
ISBN: 9780205261185
Publication Date: 1996-07-01

Databases

Here are some databases that will help you with your speeches.

Academic Search Complete [Ebsco] Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
MasterFILE Complete [Ebsco] This link opens in a new window Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest,
Research Library Complete [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window Research Library is a truly multidisciplinary resource featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources across the top 150 subject areas.
Opposing Viewpoints [Gale] This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. This database features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
SIRS [Proquest] This link opens in a new window SIRS Issues Researcher provides authoritative insight into the most-studied social issues by delivering the pros and cons from relevant, credible documents and graphics selected by trained editors and curated from over 2,000 global sources.

Communication Studies

Call Numbers

The PC Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System. This system groups everything together, which means books on the same subject should be near one another. This makes browsing much easier. The call numbers and their subject heading are listed below for Political Science.

PN4001-4355 Oratory. Elocution, etc.

PN4071-4095 Study and teaching

PN4177-4191 Debating

PN4199-4321 Recitations (in English)

PN4331-4355 Recitations in foreign languages

Textbook

This is where you will find any eTextbooks we may have for Communication classes.

Persuasion by Robert H. Gass; John S. Seiter
ISBN: 9781317348382
Publication Date: 2015-07-17

eBooks

Public Speaking by BarCharts, Inc. From the organization of a speech to knowing your audience, your vocals, and the delivery, this essential guide covers an entire course on public speaking yet is handy enough to reference throughout your speech preparation. With more preparation comes more confidence and with added inspiration throughout this guide you will stand to deliver.
ISBN: 9781423224334
Publication Date: 2014-12-31
The Young Adult's Guide to Public Speaking : Tips, Tricks & Expert Advice for Delivering a Great Speech Without Being Nervous by Atlantic Publishing Group A perfectly delivered speech is something that takes time, practice, and knowledge. This guide is teeming with resources, whether you are looking to get over your fear of speaking to a group of people, or running for student assembly and need an edge on your competition. You will discover how to overcome stage fright by being prepared, rehearsed, and ready for a number of unforeseen circumstances. You will learn how to write a memorable speech and how to impact and persuade your audience. You ll learn how to gauge your audience s reaction and tailor the remainder of your presentation to have maximum appeal to the group you are speaking to.
ISBN: 9781601389848
Publication Date: 2015-10-30
Speak Easy : 52 Brilliant Ideas for Giving Stunning Speeches by Gibbons, Barry J. In Speak Easy, she takes the reader through the complete process, from initial concept to final delivery. Included in the book are chapters on body language, voice, health, warming up, managing your audience, fear, media skills, grooming and learning your lines. The text is illustrated with many anecdotes and case studies based on Maggie’s own work and experience, with useful tips and summaries. Practical and authoritative, this is the ideal book for anyone facing a business presentation or an after-dinner speech.
ISBN: 9781904902164
Publication Date: 2007