Overview
Welcome to the Libguide for Nursing. Here you will find links to useful resources to assist you in your Nursing courses. If you are interested in learning more about PC's Nursing Department, please click here.
Books
The Nurses by Call Number: RT 89 R62 2016ISBN: 9780761189251Publication Date: 2016-04-19
Critical Care by Call Number: RT 120 I5 B76 2011ISBN: 9780061791543Publication Date: 2011-04-26
Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care by Call Number: RT 86.54 A53 2016ISBN: 9781451193978Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Reference Books
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by Call Number: REF R 121 T18 2017ISBN: 9780803659049Publication Date: 2017-01-31
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy by Call Number: REF RC 55 M4 2018ISBN: 9780911910421Publication Date: 2018-04-17
Finding Books
The PC Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System. This system groups everything together, which means books on the same subject should be near one another. This makes browsing much easier. The call numbers and their subject heading are listed below for Nursing.
R Medicine (General)
RA Public aspects of medicine
RB Pathology
RC Internal medicine
RD Surgery
RE Ophthalmology
RF Otorhinolaryngology
RG Gynecology and obstetrics
RJ Pediatrics
RK Dentistry
RL Dermatology
RM Therapeutics. Pharmacology
RS Pharmacy and materia medica
RT Nursing
RV Botanic, Thomsonian, and eclectic medicine
RX Homeopathy
RZ Other systems of medicine
Online Resources
Here are some online resources that you may find helpful.
Medline Plus is produced by the National Library of Medicine. This site has information on diseases, conditions, and wellness issues that are written in an easy to understand language.
This site provides access to U.S. government mental health and mental health problems information.
eBooks
Nursing by
Our thorough coverage of general nursing duties, including analysis and assessment techniques, just got better with our newly expanded and updated Nursing guide. Better organized information and detailed tables make this quick reference for nurses and students easier to navigate.
ISBN: 9781423221616Publication Date: 2013-12-31
Nursing Math by
BarCharts'newest 3-panel guide takes the mystery out of the different forms of math that are crucial to the nursing field. Each page is jam-packed with mathematical equations and formulas, their definitions, and step-by-step instructions on how to perform each one; helpful charts and tables are also included. Nursing students/practitioners + this guide = great success!
ISBN: 9781423216544Publication Date: 2011-05-31
Emergency Nursing by
With over 136.3 million patient visits to the Emergency Department, emergency nurses are not only in high demand but a continuously growing segment of the nursing profession. Emergency nurses find themselves in high-risk, faced-paced, physically and emotionally demanding, and difficult situations on a constant bases, which many nurses will describe as both stressful and surprisingly, extremely fulfilling. But there are so many variables, moving pieces, and different roles when it comes to emergency nurses. How do you begin to understand or know if this is the right career for you when there is so much to know? Emergency Nurse: The Profession, the Pathway, and the Practice provides students, new nurses, and existing emergency nurses the tools and information they need to pursue and sustain a successful career in emergency healthcare. Author Jeff Solheim informs readers about the career opportunities that exist within emergency nursing, introduces nurses to the emergency department and how it differs from other healthcare settings, and explains the challenges and patient populations that emergency nurses will face on a regular basis. Filled with fun facts, notes, and practical advice, this book is a fantastic resource for a nurse eager to learn more about emergency care.
ISBN: 9781940446462Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Databases
Below are the databases the PC library has that are related to Nursing.
- CINAHL Complete [Ebsco] This link opens in a new window CINAHL®Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition [Ebsco] This link opens in a new window This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
- Medline Complete [Ebsco] This link opens in a new window MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
- Nursing Reference Center Plus [Ebsco] This link opens in a new window Designed specifically for nurses, this resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more
- eBook Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window eBook Nursing Collection features more than 600 hand-selected, quality e-books that focus on the needs of nursing professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks and professional growth titles.
Reserve Books
The Library also has all your required Nursing texts on our Reserve shelf. These books can be checked out for two hours at a time and cannot leave the building.