LibGuides: Music: Home

Music Books

101 Jazz Songs for Trumpet by Hal Leonard Corp. (Created by)
Call Number: M86.A19 2016

ISBN: 9781495023415

Publication Date: 2015-12-01
Adele - 25 by Adele (Other Primary Creator)
Call Number: M1741.18 .A35A34 2016

ISBN: 9781495056529

Publication Date: 2015-12-01
American Popular Music by Larry Starr; Christopher Waterman
Call Number: ML3477 .S73 2010

ISBN: 9780195396300

Publication Date: 2009-11-13
The Concise Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Douglas Puchowski; Koskoff (Editor)
Call Number: ML100.C69 2008

ISBN: 9780415972932

Publication Date: 2008-09-22
First 50 Popular Songs You Should Play on Piano by Hal Leonard Corp. Staff (Other Primary Creator)
Call Number: M38.3.F56 2015

ISBN: 9781480398023

Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Focus - Irish Traditional Music by Jane Williams; Sean Williams
Call Number: ML3654 .W56 2010

ISBN: 9780415991469

Publication Date: 2009-10-23
Hamilton by Lin-Manuel Miranda (Composed by)
Call Number: M142.U5 2016

ISBN: 9781495088209

Publication Date: 2017-03-01
The Library of Easy Piano Classics by AMSCO Publications Staff
Call Number: M32.8 .L52 1991

ISBN: 0825615666

Publication Date: 1996-07-01
The Nineties in America by Milton Berman (Editor); Salem Press Editors
Call Number: E839 .N56 2009

ISBN: 9781587655005

Publication Date: 2009-02-01
Selected Piano Masterpieces - Early Intermediate Level by Hal Leonard Corp. (Created by)
Call Number: M21 .S4643 2017

ISBN: 9781495088001

Publication Date: 2017-04-01
Woodstock by Kevin Hillstrom; Laurie Collier Hillstrom
Call Number: ML38.B43 W64 2013

ISBN: 9780780812840

Publication Date: 2012-10-24

Music Call Numbers

Class M- Music

Subclass M1-M5000: Music

Music Printed or Copied in manuscript, Collected works of individual composers, Instrumental music, Vocal music, Folk, national and ethnic music, Hymnals, Unidentified compositions etc.

Subclass ML1-ML3930: Literature on Music

Periodicals, Serials, Special collections, Festivals, Programs, Scrapbooks, History and Criticism, Manuscripts and Manuscript studies, Music Librarianship, Music trade, Musical research etc.

Subclass MT1-MT960: Instruction and Study

Music study abroad, Music theory, music in special education, Conducting, Score reading and playing, Tuning, Instrumental techniques, Singing and Vocal techniques, Musical theater and Music in theater etc.

Comprehensive List of Music Call Numbers

Music Databases

Academic Search Complete [Ebsco]
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
eBook Collection [Ebsco]
JSTOR
JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.
Research Library Complete [ProQuest]
Research Library is a truly multidisciplinary resource featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources across the top 150 subject areas.
Oxford Music
The world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.

Music Magazines and Journals

Billboard Magazine:It publishes music pieces involving news, video, opinion, reviews, events, and style, and is also known for its music charts, including the Hot 100 and Billboard 200, tracking the most popular songs and albums in different genres.

Downbeat Magazine: Over the decades, DownBeat has instructed, recommended, criticized, praised, condemned, advocated and, in the aggregate, honored the most dynamic American music of the twentieth century. Millions have been led to records and artists on the strength of a DownBeat review, news tip, or profile. It has shaped young tastes in need of guidance and challenged older ones in need of a wake-up call.

Rolling Stone Magazine: It publishes music news, charts, lists, album reviews, artists you need to know, songs you need to know, pictures, features, live reviews, and videos.