History Vault Sources
Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in 19th Century America (1636-1880)
Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War (1865-1877)
Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2
NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files
Gale Primary Sources
NINETEENTH CENTURY U.S. NEWSPAPERS
|
Gale's Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers -- a full-text searchable, facsimile-image database -- provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers. The collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end. Every aspect of society and every region of the nation is found in the archive -- rural and urban, large cities and small towns, and coast to coast. Includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other groups and interests. Also included are illustrated papers that bring the nineteenth century to life through the drawings of many artists. |
INDIGENOUS PEOPLES OF NORTH AMERICA
Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of Native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples of North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. Comprehensive yet personal, the collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations, meeting a need for historical researchers. Indigenous Peoples of North America provides a robust, diverse, and appealing search experience and enables intelligent inquiry into the culture and heritage of Indigenous people.
Founded on the ideal of freedom, North America had a unique role as a birthplace for and spread of new religious movements. This new land provided religious freedom to dissenters and the opportunity to originate or significantly reshape movements that would become cornerstones of faith for years to come. Religions of America presents scholars and researchers with more than 660,000 pages of content that follow the development of religions and religious movements born in the United States from 1820 to 1990. Derived from numerous collections, most notably the American Religions Collection at the University of California, Santa Barbara, Religions of America traces the history and unique characteristics of movements and religious groups’ expressions of faith through manuscripts, pamphlets, newsletters, ephemera, and visuals.
CRIME, PUNISHEMENT, AND POPULAR CULTURE
With 2.1 million pages of trial transcripts, police and forensic reports, detective novels, newspaper accounts, true crime literature, and related ephemera, Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 presents the broadest and deepest collection of materials supporting the study of nineteenth-century criminal history, law, literature, and justice. This quintessential resource enhances understanding of the intersection of law and society during a pivotal era of social change.
History Vault Sources Continued
American Indians and the American West
American Indians and the American West consists of one module on American Indians and the American West from 1809-1971. This module contains several collections focusing on the interaction between American Indians and the U.S. government in the 19th and 20th Centuries. Notable collections in this module from the 19th Century focus on Indian Removal from 1832-1840, the U.S. Army and American Indians in the years from the 1850s-1890s, including detailed coverage of Indian Wars. The featured collections on the 20th Century are Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.
Japanese American Incarceration: Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946
Archival records from the War Relocation Authority documents the day-to-day running of the 10 relocation camps that housed persons of Japanese heritage from the West Coast states between 1942 to 1946.