Primary Resources
A Primary Resource is an item that was written or recorded during the time of the event. Primary Resources can be newspapers, photographs, diaries, letters, legal documents, or even eye witness accounts. The great thing about primary resources is they haven't been changed over time. They have never been summarized, edited, or modified.
Primary Sources in the Library
The Civil War by
Rachel Seidman brings together an array of primary sources from the antebellum period, the war, and Reconstruction to provide a
well-rounded account of this pivotal era.
Call Number: REF E 464 .S48 2001ISBN: 9780195115581Publication Date: 2001-02-01
Different Types of Sources
Online Archives
- United States Library of CongressThe Library of Congress is home to many of the most important documents in American history. This Web site provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents.
- Harvard Library Primary Sources OnlineThis is a collection of links to different online primary resource repositories.
- Library of Congress Classroom MaterialsA collection of primary resources covering the History of United States.
Primary Source Databases
- Newspaper Source Plus [Ebsco] This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.